Author Topic: How to design a proper memory map for an 8-bit microprocessor?  (Read 5678 times)

Offline ali6x944Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
hi everyone,
during the last month, I have been working on the NSC800 project and I had hit a brick wall, if I want something more out of the micro I need to step out of the blinking LEDs stage to adding memory and peripherals, however I have no experience in designing memory maps and addressing them properly. I have previously tried to adapt simple minimalistic computers made by Grant Searle for the Z80 but without any success...

so How to design a proper memory map for an 8-bit microprocessor that would keep everything simple and neat?

I also have a hand full of questions to ask you about:
1) do I need to make ROM at the beginning of the memory space?
2) does interrupts need to be addressed to the ROM memory space?
3) which is better in organising memory, pages or arbitrary assigning of memory space?
4) if I use a GDC like the NEC uPD7220AD or intel 82720, do I need to include the memory for the GDC as addressable memory for the NSC800 even though the processor can't address it directly -or at least this is what I think-?
5)for peripherals in the minimalistic computers made by Grant Searle he uses the z80's /IORQ and /MREQ to choose the the things he whats to address and he treats them as two separate 64k banks - see:http://searle.hostei.com/grant/z80/SimpleZ80.html - is it possible to do the same with a dual function pin on the NSC800 or similarly in the intel 8085?
6) if I have certain programmable I/O in my computer, say a UART chip or a PIA or keyboard interface chip or even the GDC it self, do I need a special address for the chip or can I use RAM? if I have to use a  special address for the chip how to choose it properly?
7)if an I/O chip has its own separate memory does I need to treat it as a totally independent system, thus designing its own memory map?