Author Topic: I feel like I have never written code before  (Read 2509 times)

Offline admiralkTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I feel like I have never written code before
« on: July 08, 2018, 01:25:49 am »
I am working on what, at this point, is a simple adding machine; 6 buttons +1, +3, +5, -5, -3, -1. It worked fine, until I tried to display a negative sign. The problem is in one simple line of code, the if statement.
Code: [Select]
displayNumber += 1;
Serial.print("Number = ");
Serial.println(displayNumber);
if(displayNumber >= 0)
flags &= ~(1 << FLAGNEG);

Serial.print("After check, number = ");
Serial.println(displayNumber);
Serial.println(flags, BIN);
serial output:
Number = -4
After check, number = -4
// This snippet starts here
Number = -3
After check, number = -3

I am pretty sure that
if(-3 >= 0) should evaluate to false, and not change the flags bit. I am either overlooking something extremely simple, or there is something very wrong elsewhere.  I could really use a second set of eyes to tell me I have gotten really stupid blind, or give me an idea of where else to look.

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: I feel like I have never written code before
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2018, 01:45:13 am »
What is the type of displayNumber?

Also, are you sure that flags is properly set to begin with? What is FLAGNEG?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2018, 01:55:01 am by ataradov »
Alex

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 02:17:36 am »
Is your displayNumber of unsigned type?
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

Offline hendorog

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2018, 02:31:40 am »
If it was me I'd be putting a print statement inside the if statement.

Then when you do that and spend half an hour working out that you forgot to put the braces around it, then you can consider adding the braces as a matter of routine.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2018, 02:42:28 am »