Author Topic: I'm a beginner PIC programmer. What's the best programmer/debugger to use?  (Read 7457 times)

Offline flyman1999Topic starter

Hello All,

I'm new to PIC Programming and I'm looking for advice on getting the best programmer/debugger for a beginner that is easy to use.

I'm interested in a programmer/debugger that can do in circuit debugging.

I was going to get the PicKit3 but I've read and seen many horror stories on You Tube.

I have seen some ICD4 vs ICD3 You Tube videos and heard similar issues.

It sounds like Microchip programmers have a lot of bugs that drive users crazy.

I'm not looking to spend a hundreds of dollars. A cheap beginner kit would be good for me to get started.

What would experienced PIC Programmers recommend to a Beginner? What else would I need to go along with a programmer/debugger? Would I need some type of Development Board that will work with the programmer/developer?

I'm an electronics technician that designs my own electronics gadgets. I want design gadgets that can be controlled by a PIC.

Online oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
Re: I'm a beginner PIC programmer. What's the best programmer/debugger to use?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 11:44:01 pm »
If you don't need to program older PICs, then get a Snap. It can also do some AVR.

https://www.microchip.com/developmenttools/ProductDetails/PartNO/PG164100
https://www.microchipdirect.com/product/search/all/PG164100

You can use a solderless breadboard for the DIP package parts. No need for a specialized dev board.

Online westfw

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2018, 12:16:48 am »
What kinds of PICs?  "New" programmers like the SNAP don't seem to support the "legacy" 8bit PICs that have appeared in numerous hobbyist projects, like the PIC16F84.  (I don't think they produce the 12V needed for any of the chips that don't default to Low-Voltage Programming.)