Author Topic: Interface FPGA and microcontroller  (Read 11670 times)

Offline gauravmpTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Interface FPGA and microcontroller
« on: May 23, 2016, 03:48:14 pm »
Hi,

I'm pretty new to FPGAs but I'm fairly competent in microcontrollers and have used a wide variety of those. I'm wondering if anyone has a suggested reading list for interfacing an FPGA with a microcontroller. Any list of books would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Offline asgard20032

• Regular Contributor
Re: Interface FPGA and microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 03:50:17 pm »
You don't need a book for that. MCU mostly use slow speed bus, such as SPI, I2C and UART. You won't plug an mcu to an FPGA trough PCI express or usb. The easiest way to implement your interface would be to use SPI. Since its a synchronous protocol, that can be reprenseted with simple shift register. It is also the one that offer the greatest speed for a micro controller.

The following users thanked this post: gauravmp

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2016, 04:00:28 pm »
If the interface is purely digital then SPI is a good way but it will need clock domain crossing inside the FPGA.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Daving

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2016, 04:04:00 pm »
Agreed.  SPI would be easiest.  Make the MCU the master and the FPGA the slave for the easiest configuration since you're more comfortable with MCUs.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2016, 04:54:23 pm »
Agreed.  SPI would be easiest.  Make the MCU the master and the FPGA the slave for the easiest configuration since you're more comfortable with MCUs.

Which might be the hard way around when it comes to creating a slave device on the FPGA.