Author Topic: ispMACH with Voltage Level Translation .vs. ATF1502AS  (Read 2094 times)

Offline NivagSwerdnaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
ispMACH with Voltage Level Translation .vs. ATF1502AS
« on: April 17, 2018, 11:15:34 am »
Recently I have been playing (I am a hobbyist) with replacing failed custom logic from 1980s Arcade machines.  These devices operate primarily on 5V TTL logic (with some +12 and -5V thrown in for the crusty DRAMs)...

For the simple customs they are replaceable with around 5-10 74 series chips so a custom board is possible (although the physical constraints vary in the target boards)... it would seem that a FPGA is an overkill for many of these scenarios.

I am not familiar with CPLDs but thought I might have a look... I seem to have two obvious routes..

ATF1502AS which is 5V technology and looking rather dated.  The development tool on the Microchip site suggests I need a Parallel Port on my PC... which I don't have anymore!

ispMACH from Lattice looks much more modern but would require voltage translation (and sufficient current drive to meet the TTL fan-out specs)... LSF0108?

Any opinions?

Thanks in advance

Offline bgm

• Supporter
Re: ispMACH with Voltage Level Translation .vs. ATF1502AS
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 01:00:36 pm »
Recently I have been playing (I am a hobbyist) with replacing failed custom logic from 1980s Arcade machines.  These devices operate primarily on 5V TTL logic (with some +12 and -5V thrown in for the crusty DRAMs)...
For the simple customs they are replaceable with around 5-10 74 series chips so a custom board is possible (although the physical constraints vary in the target boards)... it would seem that a FPGA is an overkill for many of these scenarios.
I am not familiar with CPLDs but thought I might have a look... I seem to have two obvious routes..