Author Topic: Microcontroller for begginer  (Read 7790 times)

Offline jimkonTopic starter

Microcontroller for begginer
« on: October 09, 2013, 01:09:46 pm »
Hallo to all,
i am a new here,

i am a student in computer engineering in greece and i wanna start learning more about mC.So i am searching a mC to start.I would an as simple as possible mC,and a nice tutorial or book.
I am between an arduino

kit http://www.amazon.com/Arduino-Ultimate-Starter-Includes-Instruction/dp/B00BT0NDB8/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1381323857&sr=8-6&keywords=arduino

and a pic kit which i dont know yet(maybe pic kit 3).

I would like to ask,
1.What is programmer/debugger and if i need it why i need it?
2.What is the simulation program and if i need it why i need it?
3.Can i program arduino in c?
4.Arduino doesng have debugger and programmer?

i am totally new.

thank you very much.I will apreciate any help.Sorry for my bad english.

« Last Edit: October 09, 2013, 02:09:01 pm by jimkon »

Offline filip_cro

• Regular Contributor
Re: Microcontroller for begginer
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2013, 02:03:05 pm »
If you have background in C you can start with breadboard, programmer and MCU. No need for arduino. I started that way and I found many excellent tutorials no web.

Offline RjSa

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2013, 02:46:53 pm »
I agree with filip_cro. Get a basic microcontroller, a breadboard and build the circuit.

1. A programmer is a circuit that transfer your code to the microcontroller.
2. Is a software that simulates a circuit within your PC. Its up to you if you want to use it or not.
3. Yes you can
4. It has a programmer, I dont know if it has a debugger.

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2013, 03:50:47 pm »
ok i like your idea.Can you suggest me a  a mC kit or mC with a nice tutorial?
What is the difference of arduino in comparison with your suggestion?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2013, 04:23:12 pm by jimkon »

Offline RjSa

• Contributor