Author Topic: MicroZed experiences?  (Read 1826 times)

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
MicroZed experiences?
« on: February 26, 2018, 02:19:28 pm »
Can anyone comment on their experiences with the MicroZed?  I'm pretty fed up with Digilent's support for the Zybo.  So I am looking for an alternative Zynq board that has good engineering support.  I've been reading the microzed.org documentation and forum.  So far it all looks thoroughly professional.

I have no prior FPGA experience so accurate documentation and demos that work as advertised are key.  I have almost no Windows experience, but even I know that Windows won't allow multiple "."s in filenames.  I had to rename the Adept USB driver installer files I downloaded from Digilent's website to get them to run.  I've since switched to running Vivado on Debian.  The microzed.org forum looks Windows centric, but that might just be a sampling artifact.

I plan to run Vivado in a VBox  VM if at all possible, at least until a synthesis won't complete overnight.

Online newbrain

• Super Contributor
Re: MicroZed experiences?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2018, 02:45:11 pm »
I have almost no Windows experience, but even I know that Windows won't allow multiple "."s in filenames.
OT, admittedly but...
Nandemo wa shiranai wa yo, shitteru koto dake.

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 04:03:48 pm »
When I tried to run the installer initially Win 7 Pro it said it couldn't find the file.  But when I renamed it fubar.exe it ran just fine.   So I have over generalized.   I think it's  so that if you attempt to open README.txt.exe it doesn't run.  I only thought to try to rename the file because I remembered that that was being used in phishing attacks at one time because Windows would not show the last ".exe".