Author Topic: MPLAB XC8 8 bit pic peripheral access  (Read 2625 times)

Offline mrcrud5Topic starter

• Contributor
MPLAB XC8 8 bit pic peripheral access
« on: November 23, 2017, 06:08:15 pm »
I just switched compilers from Picbasicpro to XC8 so keep in mind I am a newb at this point. Its going to be tough for the next little while I get used to using C again but I am up for the challenge.

Anywho! I want to know if there are any libraries out there that I can use for accessing the peripherals on the 8 bit pics. I know I can just make them myself(infact that would probably help the learning process). I know there is PLIB.h but from what I understand that was only included on versions earlier than XC8 v1.34 and also it is only used for 16bit pics. At the moment I am using the latest version which I think is 1.44. They are encouraging the use of the code configurator which seems really neat, however they have a limited amount of pics that it will work with. I currently have a lot of PICF616s, PIC16F88, and PIC18F2550, and PIC18F2585 so I'd like to continue to use those. None of these seem to be on the list of pics that will work with the code configurator.

I have a feeling I am going to have to make my own libraries to use. Its mostly just the UART, ADC, I2C, and PWM stuff I'd like to have functions written for. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks

Online JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: MPLAB XC8 8 bit pic peripheral access
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 07:42:47 pm »
plib was for pic18 only (which is an 8 bit mcu... the instructions are 16 bit wide but the core operates on 8 bit data)
even if plib isn't included you can always add it to your installation