Author Topic: MSP430G2231 LaunchPad - Beginner Needs Help  (Read 19317 times)

Offline jprojectTopic starter

• Contributor
MSP430G2231 LaunchPad - Beginner Needs Help
« on: May 30, 2011, 07:13:09 am »
Hello everyone!

I recently got my own LaunchPad and I am very new to microcontrollers (this is actually my very first microcontroller). I just finished writing some codes in C and making it blink in various delay time but I'm having trouble understanding the coding for this microcontroller. I checked the header file msp430g2231.h but that just made me even more confused. I checked the user's manual for msp430 series but its almost 700 pages so... I was wondering if anyone can help me understand the coding for msp430 without me reading the whole manual. Right now, I just want to do simple projects like get a light sensor and make it turn on an LED when there is no light (a night light). Also, what kind of sensor (the specs of the sensor) would I need?

Thank you!

Offline johnboxall

• Supporter
  • You do nothing, you get nothing.
    • Books, services and more:
Re: MSP430G2231 LaunchPad - Beginner Needs Help
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 07:33:37 am »
You can find good articles and some tutorials as well and a MSP430 forum at http://www.43oh.com/
« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 07:51:10 am by tronixstuff »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 07:50:19 am »
Thank you for the quick reply!

Here is a good link I found for beginners from the website you recommended:

http://www.43oh.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=449&p=6346#p6346

There are many different people suggesting various ebooks and websites to get you started.

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2011, 06:23:41 pm »
I'm still having quite a bit of trouble understanding the coding. These examples are not based off of LaunchPad and they don't explain the actual coding (like the logical operators). Can anyone help?

Thank you.