Author Topic: DSP 101: Developing FOSS FW for Zynq and Cyclone V based DSOs  (Read 14364 times)

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
DSP 101: Developing FOSS FW for Zynq and Cyclone V based DSOs
« on: February 13, 2018, 04:18:53 pm »
This is a continuation of a thread with the same title in Test and Measurement. Please read it if this interests you.

I am embarking on a project to write a general open source firmware framework for instruments based on the Zynq 7010/20 devices.

I have no prior experience with FPGAs, but lots of DSP and hardware experience.

For development platforms  I have a Zynq 7010 based Instek GDS-2072E and a Zybo Z7-20 with an Instek MSO-2024EA to probe the targets.

My first objective is to implement sampling.  Read one or more 8 bit values and store them to DRAM at maximum speed.  For a 4 channel DSO this implies 2 GB/S of write to the DRAM.  I do not expect that to be easy to do, but obviously it can be done.

The initial sampling IP will do the following:

regularly sample 1-2 ADC channels at 1 GS/S
regularly sample 3-4 ADC channels at 500 MS/S
sample up to 32 bits of logic state and run length compress on the fly
randomly sample 1-4 ADC channels and resample to uniform sampling on the ARM cores

I am particularly interested in finding examples of reading GPIO and writing to DRAM on Zynq boards.

[edit] changed title to highlight this is Zynq oriented
« Last Edit: July 29, 2018, 11:15:16 pm by rhb »

The following users thanked this post: prasimix

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Open Source Instrument Firmware Project
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 05:02:10 pm »
IMHO you should stay closer at home and try to add features to the existing firmware of the GDS-2072E.
Creating an oscilloscope from scratch without FPGA experience won't be finished before the Zync is an obsolete piece of technology.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.