Author Topic: PIC ATMEL ARM IDE (Compiler+Editor+Programmer)...  (Read 14304 times)

Offline astraTopic starter

• Contributor
PIC ATMEL ARM IDE (Compiler+Editor+Programmer)...
« on: March 01, 2014, 11:29:55 pm »
Hi,
i'm sorry if i'm asking something that's already has been answered..
I try to find with the search button in the forum but i could not find the answer..
So that's the question...
I’m an old EE but I’m new in the MicroController field… In this period I’ve try to learn some about the microcontroller because i like to build some project using Microcontrollers.
I’m not so sure which Brand to choose..
The parameters I need to respect are different...but in this moment the most important is the price because of the limited budget..  ::) So I try to understand what are the prices of the necessary tools  (IDE, Editor, Compiler, Programmer…) of the different Brand's solutions that are offered.
I try to understand something reading through the internet and i try to syntetize what I’ve understood:

PIC :

Editor         :   MPLab X IDE v2.05     
Price           : Free

Compiler     : MPLab XC 8 / 16 /32
Price 8 Bit Standard HPA WorkStation :  73,33 €
Price 8Bit  Standard WorkStation: 363,01 €
Price 16 Bit Standard WorkStation :  363,01 €
Price 32Bit limited :  0,00 €

Programmer : [url=http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSearch.aspx?Keywords=PG164130]http://www.microchipdirect.com/ProductSearch.aspx?Keywords=PG164130 [/url]
Price  : 32,96 €

ATMEL:

Editor : Atmel Studio 6.2 beta Installer
Price   : Free

Compiler : Atmel Studio 6.2 beta Installer
Price       : Free

Programmer : AVRISP mkII
Price  : 34 US$

ARM :

Editor : Eclipse ds5 community edition
Price : free

Compiler :    Eclipse ds5 community edition
Price : Free

Programmer : Ulink2
Price : 316,00€

I do not put in this list other manufacturer (as Texas Instruments..only to try to focus on the major competitor in the market) and I do not watch the Microcontroller products…