Author Topic: PIC16f818 ADC not working properly  (Read 1866 times)

Offline angelothewolfTopic starter

• Contributor
PIC16f818 ADC not working properly
« on: January 15, 2018, 07:28:30 pm »
Hello there,

I'm a beginner in PIC programming and I'm trying to run a sort of binary counter using a potentiometer to send a dc signal to the ADC and 7 LEDs to display the output. I'm using MikroC Pro, Proteus 8 Professional and a K150 PIC programmer. I have a PIC 16F818.

The code is:

void main()
{
  unsigned int result;
  OSCCON = 0x70; // set internal clock to 8 MHz
  TRISB = 0x00; //PORTB as output
  TRISA = 0x01; //PORTA.A0 as input

ADCON1 = 0x0E;
  ADCON0 = 0x00;

ADCON0.ADON = 1;

do
  {
   ADCON0.GO_DONE = 1;
   while(ADCON0.GO_DONE)
   result = ADC_Read(0);
   PORTB = result>>3;

}while(1);
}

I'm right shifting the result three times because I only need 7 outputs and the most significant bits gives more accurate results at the output as I change the potentiometer's resistance. The simulation works well. I've set the circuit on a protoboard and I'm having some problems: it's taking a long time for the output to change when I change the potentiometer's resistance; as I change it some values are skiped; the LEDs that are not lightened up are blinking. The circuit is assembled just like in the simulation (image attached). I don't understand why it is taking so long for the output to change, the ADC should be running at 4 MHz as I configured ADCON1 and the internal clock. Also I need the circuit to display every value between 0000000 and 1111111.

Any suggestions?

Offline Buriedcode

• Super Contributor
Re: PIC16f818 ADC not working properly
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2018, 08:02:01 pm »
Use code tags to show your code.  Its the hash - # - symbol .  Or just use [ code ] [ /code ] without the spaces.

Code: [Select]
void main()
{
  unsigned int result;
  TRISB = 0x00; //PORTB as output
  TRISA = 0x01; //PORTA.A0 as input

ADCON1 = 0x0E;
  ADCON0 = 0x00;