Author Topic: PIC18F4510 Programming and MPLab X environment  (Read 3682 times)

Offline MechEng87Topic starter

• Contributor
PIC18F4510 Programming and MPLab X environment
« on: February 25, 2017, 09:54:46 pm »
Hi everyone,

I have a new prototype board that I built for myself with a Pic18f4510 on it, a 40Mhz Crystal  and that's basically it.   I am trying to program a Hello World for it to test the board and soldering just 4 leds on port A to blink at 1 sec interval.  I have tried several example code on the web, with no success.  I have a PicKit 2 as a programmer, using the XC8 compiler in Mplabx.  Tried 3 times to make the board with no results.  The program compiles and builds successfully, the pickit 2 loads the hex file and programs the chip successfully(or so it says), but no blinky light. Like I said I have tried 3 times to test my soldering and double checked the datasheet for the pin-out,  wondering if its my config and header files? Not sure  as I am new to MPlab and C programming for pics. I have my code inserted below I hope.  :-)

I thank you in advance for any advice you can give and help you can render to get this thing working.

Offline cv007

• Frequent Contributor
Re: PIC18F4510 Programming and MPLab X environment
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 10:35:22 pm »
__delay_ms(10);

Whatever other problems you may have, that is not enough time between blinking. I you want 1 sec interval, use __delay_ms(500), for half sec on, half sec off. With what you have, if everything else was working properly, you would get led's showing at 50% duty cycle- basically half brightness (you can't see the 50hz blinking)

I would also add that you are only setting/clearing 1 pin (PORTA = 1;  PORTA = 0;). To set 4 pins use PORTA = 0x0F;
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 10:37:56 pm by cv007 »

Offline Buriedcode

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2017, 10:37:09 pm »