Author Topic: PWM output on STM32  (Read 10986 times)

Offline Udayan SinhaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PWM output on STM32
« on: November 22, 2015, 09:23:16 pm »
I am new to ARM MCUs and I have been trying to find my way around the peripherals using STM's HAL library and STM32Cube. I am having trouble in getting the PWM output to work. Here, I'm trying dim an LED (connected to PA6) on the STM32L100 Discovery Board by using the channel-1 PWM output of timer-3 at 50% duty cycle.
However, the LED doesn't turn on at all. I tried using the in-circuit debugging feature and it appears that the timer is not getting configured at all (despite the fact that I initialized it using HAL_TIM_PWM_Init()).  :-// Any help would be appreciated. My main.c source code is attached below.

Line-96: main()
Line-148: Clock settings
Line-396: Timer Initialization routine
Line-463: GPIO Initialization routine

There are initialization functions for various other peripherals in the source file but I'm not using any of them right now. Jut timer and GPIO. I have used PWM features before on 8-bit MCUs like PICs, but the PICs that I used didn't have auto-reload features on their timer and hence, I had to use timer overflow interrupts to load back the timer register. However, timer-3 here has auto-reload and so I was unsure of whether I need interrupts. I tried looking up some example codes online and none of them seem to be using interrupts either.

Offline richardman

• Frequent Contributor
Re: PWM output on STM32
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 09:40:44 pm »
I am new to ARM MCUs and I have been trying to find my way around the peripherals using STM's HAL library and STM32Cube. I am having trouble in getting the PWM output to work. Here, I'm trying dim an LED (connected to PA6) on the STM32L100 Discovery Board by using the channel-1 PWM output of timer-3 at 50% duty cycle.