Author Topic: Python TCP server - CPU usage continually increasing over time  (Read 7642 times)

Offline DeltaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Python TCP server - CPU usage continually increasing over time
« on: January 26, 2018, 08:33:07 pm »
Please take it easy on me, I only started learning Python last week, and have cobbled this together, so I am fully aware that it will look a pile of crap to the proper programmers on here!

This is a Python3 script running on Ubuntu Server on a Raspberry Pi 3.  It is emulates a Modbus TCP slave (server).  This code runs in it's own thread, the main thread pulls data from an ASCII TCP stream and puts the required values into variable, which the Modbus thread then maps into a virtual register space, and responds to Modbus requests from the Master (client).  The requests come in about 6 times a second, there is only one client, and every request is the same.  (This whole bodge job is to get live data into a a proprietary control system that only talks Modbus TCP)

It does work, and seems to work well initially.  (I know I am playing with fire by assuming that the complete Modbus request is received on a single recv() call)

When it starts, Python consumes around 3% of one CPU core, but this creeps up and up and up.  (I am seeing this via htop, with tree view enabled.  This child thread is using the CPU - if the parent shows 10% this thread show 9% etc)
  After about 10 hours it's at 90% and things fall apart.
Whilst a total beginner with Python and socket programming, I cannot understand why this happens over time.  The loop is doing exactly the same thing after the first minute than it is after 10 hours, so why the increase in CPU usage?  Memory usage does not increase.