Author Topic: Raspberry Pi 2, Windows 10 IoT  (Read 1898 times)

Offline HowardlongTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Raspberry Pi 2, Windows 10 IoT
« on: February 02, 2016, 11:32:35 pm »
Well I've had a couple of stints at this and to be honest I just don't get it, and have thrown in the towel.

First stint I gave up trying to write to even get an SD card to be recognised by the  Windaz IoT SD burner software (yes, all 6 of them were the right spec). Second time, I got an image written using an out of band method, then set to following a bunch of notes on getting a Blinky to work (after a 6gig download of VS2015). These "notes" turned out to be about a hundred lines of code pasted into a solution with about a dozen source files.

And no, I couldn't even get it to compile, let alone run. And they wonder why people give up with this shit? I'm no Linux fanboy, I've been a Microtard dev for 30 years, but this very lacklustre attempt to diversify just doesn't seem to have any redeeming facets at all.

Offline eugenenine

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Raspberry Pi 2, Windows 10 IoT
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2016, 02:40:55 am »
I tried XP embedded and even burned one of my technet cases just to be told to wait for the first service pack to fix all the issues I discovered.  I just added a Third Pi to my server farm as the other two have been running fine with more reliability than any windows server I've ever seen.

Offline bpye

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2016, 03:22:58 am »