Author Topic: Size of STM32Cube generated code  (Read 7773 times)

Offline jyrgenTopic starter

• Contributor
Size of STM32Cube generated code
« on: January 11, 2018, 01:04:26 pm »
Hi, I have previously made a PCB with an 8-bit AVR using some basic functionality (GPIO, ADC, I2C, SPI, Timer, USART). The final compiled code for the entire application is ~8Kb(text). I now want to do a new version of the board with the same functionality and have changed the MCU to a STM32L0. Since this is my first project I'm using STM32Cube to setup the pin functions and generate that code. When I compile this generated code using System workbench and optimize for size, the size is ~10Kb(text). I'm a beginner on these kind of processors, but is it normal that a code that just sets up the ADC, I2C, SPI, DAC, Timer and USART and does not do anything else is that large?

Offline Jeroen3

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: Size of STM32Cube generated code
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 01:33:29 pm »
Yes. Vendor library code is always bloated (size penalty) and abstracted (speed penalty) that it isn't compact anymore.
It was never intended to be that way, it's a library with no guarantees whatsoever, made as application example or quick prototyping to get going on today's vastly complicated microcontrollers.

Code will be quicker and mode compact if you cherry-pick the useful bits from the example code.

The following users thanked this post: jyrgen

Offline dgtl

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 02:12:13 pm »
Yes, ST HAL is large.