Author Topic: [Solved] Small-ish FPGA or CPLD 5V-tolerant ?  (Read 23598 times)

Offline RomainTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • HW & SW consultant
[Solved] Small-ish FPGA or CPLD 5V-tolerant ?
« on: May 28, 2016, 10:27:24 am »
Hi all,

I'm to re-implement a hard-wired address decode (with lots of 74000) on a board, and to save place and allow upgradability, I'd like to do that in programmable logic.

I'm looking for something very small, and most importantly very cheap (sub $2). I think even a small CPLD or FPGA (with a few hundred LUTs) would be enough. TTL ICs are still cheap enough to not justify programmable logic when the operation only needs a few 10s of them...

Because the bus I'm interfacing with is 5V, it would be best to have 5V-tolerant inputs, and even better: a 5V device. Unfortunately, it's 2016 and most of these chips have become obsolete. I'm no beginner in CPLD and FPGA, but I've always used the big stuff: Spartan and Virtex on one hand, and low-power stuff: Smart-Fusion and Actel Igloo on the other.

Thanks if you have a few references in mind  ;)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2016, 11:29:36 pm by Romain »

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Small-ish FPGA or CPLD 5V-tolerant ?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2016, 11:42:24 am »
Xilinx XC95C00 series
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline obiwanjacobi

• Frequent Contributor
  • What's this yippee-yayoh pin you talk about!?
    • Marctronix Blog
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2016, 11:55:24 am »
I use an Altera Max II 240 (80 IO) CPLD with clamp diodes and current limiting / pull up resistors.
See also the Max II handbook chapter 8.

I got a single Max II 240 for $1.38 and 10 for under $10.00 on ebay.

[2c]
Arduino Template Library | Zalt Z80 Computer
Wrong code should not compile!

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2016, 01:53:57 pm »
Xilinx XC95C00 series

Did you mean the XC9500XL series?