Author Topic: Software design book recommendations  (Read 3954 times)

Offline genericpurpleturtleTopic starter

• Contributor
Software design book recommendations
« on: August 06, 2018, 10:07:54 am »
Hello all! First of all I apologise if this isn't quite in the right subsection of the forum, I didn't really know where it should go and this seemed the most fitting.

I am a junior embedded software engineer and at work we have some extra money in the "consumables" budget and it has been suggested that it be spent on books. As well as getting the newest edition of the Art of Electronics by Horowitz, I was thinking it may be worth also getting some books on software design. I did Electronics at university and we hardly did any programming and any programming I have done has been mostly self taught and as such I do not doubt that I have a lot of bad habits in the way I structure my code, so a book that covers good design principles for C I think would be helpful.

I've found a book on C compilers called Advanced C and C++ Compiling by Stevanovic, which I may purchase as I think I could definitely develop my understanding of whole compilers work also. If anyone has any other book recommendations of this nature, or essentially any aspect of embedded software engineering or even software engineering more generally it would be most helpful.

Cheers!

Offline vidi

• Contributor
Re: Software design book recommendations
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2018, 01:28:21 pm »
1. Clean code by Robert C. Martin
The examples are dedicated to Java, but the same principles/rules can be applied also on application in embedded programming (unless you want to do some really low level stuff like kernel optimization, DMA drivers, ...)

2. Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software
Might be obsolete these days, but it was really handy to understand high abstraction levels.

3. Modern C++ Design by Andrei Alexandrescu