Author Topic: some newbie question for integer DSP  (Read 1550 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
some newbie question for integer DSP
« on: April 20, 2017, 01:34:25 pm »
Hi,
I'm a newbie in the fix-point DSP, I have some basic question,

Suppose that I have an ARM CPU with a 12bit ADC and I have configured the PWM to be 9bit  , I wanted to do for example a PID algorithm in Q15 format

I have done it successfuly with float numbers, But for increasing the Speed I wanted to do it in Q15 format

how should I convert my ADC readings, KP, Ki, Kd and PWM values to Q15?

suppose that I have a kp = 1.0 Ki=1.0 and Kd =1.0

I guess that I should shift the ADC readings 3 times to left to convert them to Q15 ? what about the other values? would some one explain the concept or relate a good link for understanding.

Thanks in advance
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: some newbie question for integer DSP
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 05:42:35 pm »
Hi,
I realy need some help or a good reference, do you recommend some thing?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online Someone

• Super Contributor
    • send complaints here
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2017, 11:55:06 pm »
The design will depend a lot on your target, a DSP with a single cycle MAC and barrel shifters will result in a very different design to a generic CPU with a deep pipeline, again a different design to an ASIC or FPGA. But the basic steps are:
  • Simulate the entire system with floating point numbers until it works.
  • Determine the largest values possible in each step of the calculations.
  • Select scalings to avoid overflow or wraparound.
  • Simulate again with the fixed point variables at each step