Author Topic: Space Grade FPGAs  (Read 8964 times)

Offline rakeshm55Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Space Grade FPGAs
« on: October 05, 2015, 03:47:30 pm »
Hi,
i would like to explore space grade FPGA usage.....
What are the precautions to be taken to work on space grade fpgas?? I prefer to go with Virtex-5QV series ....

is the design flow similar to normal xilinx FPGAs??.... I am new to TMR and data scrubbing ..... Will TMR severely reduce the Logic cell usages of FPGA.....

Is there in restriction on using different resoucrces of FPGA like block RAM, DSP slices etc....

Please advice....

Offline 6thimage

• Regular Contributor
Re: Space Grade FPGAs
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2015, 12:43:55 am »
The design flow is identical to normal FPGAs - the tools are identical because the space grade and non-space grade FPGAs have the same functionality, they just have different silicon. The space grade parts are certified to be able to stand a certain TID (level of radiation), that is the only difference.

But, this doesn't mean that companies developing for space grade FPGAs will use the same design flow, they will often have similar flows to safety critical designs - where the design is tested to a higher degree, with the tools providing assurance that the design is not modified during layout and routing.

This does mean that you can spend time developing for space, but targeting commercial grade FPGAs, which is a lot cheaper until very late in the product design.

There are some additional steps if you use certain FPGA features - I have a colleague who is using partial reconfiguration in Virtex FPGAs to allow for partial recovery of a design when an error is detected, which requires a certain type of bit file.

TMR repeats the logic three times and adds some voting logic, so if you use TMR on all of your design, it will take up 3x the logic cells, plus a little bit. A large downside to this is that it can significantly impact the timing.