Author Topic: SPI bit banging using the Z80 cpu  (Read 15241 times)

Offline commieTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
SPI bit banging using the Z80 cpu
« on: September 10, 2015, 01:39:21 pm »
Hi,

I'm trying to find some short z80 assembler code showing how to output one byte synchronously using a 8255 or a z80 pio. I'm not a great expert at z80 assembly code, the problems I have is that although the z80 has bit manipulation instructions they can only be used on internal bytes whereas the 8051 has full bit manipulations on all of its ports aswell, the z80 can only write or read full 8 bit bytes from its ports. 

I have searched everywhere for an example but unfortunately, I cant find anything.

Offline lapm

• Frequent Contributor
Re: SPI bit banging using the Z80 cpu
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 02:53:54 pm »
It should not be problem unless you overload port output pins so much that voltage drops enough to read as zero when it should be one..

If its output only port then you could use whats know as ghost port. Basically you have variable that contains what port should be and you manipulate that, then at right moment you simple copy value of this ghost port variable to actual port. Cant remember where i heard this ghost port term in early nineties...

Making code comes down to ow exactly is cpu connected to io chips and how address space looks like. If i remember correctly Z80 allowed even to set up separate IO-space or use more usual memory mapped IO...
Electronics, Linux, Programming, Science... im interested all of it...

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 03:15:52 pm »
ghost port

Yep, I thought of that but I just wanted to make sure no one will pull the carpet from under my feet with some easier code, :phew: it's so much easier with the 8051!