Author Topic: Electronic Control for Bob Cordell's THD Analyser?  (Read 1124 times)

Offline Chris56000Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Electronic Control for Bob Cordell's THD Analyser?
« on: April 25, 2018, 05:04:42 pm »
Hi!

I'm new to this, so old hands please excuse me!

I would like to design an Electronic Front End for Bob Cordell's THD Analyser, with two press–buttons for Frequency Up/Down – ten discrete frequency steps, plus another two buttons for Range Up/Down (four range outputs), a single toggle button for each of the two changeover switches, plus a colour TFT displaying each discrete frequency step, and red/green indicators on the  LCD for the status signals (input low/high, frequency low/high, driven by LED outputs).

Can anyone recommend a good DIP uC that will do this, and where to find tutorials on:–

1) Writing push–button interfaces,

2) Designing a nice colour TFT interface (I don't need touch – screen interface)

3) Controlling relays and interfacing LED–level signals to show a status on a colour TFT

The original design used innumerable banks of yaxley wafer switches, which I'd like to replace with small standard PCB relays mounted near to the switched components on the analogue PCBs.

Chris Williams

PS!

I'll be posting my PCBs, code, etc., etc., for discussion and assistance if needed!
« Last Edit: April 25, 2018, 05:08:03 pm by Chris56000 »
It's an enigma that's what it is!! This thing's not fixed because it doesn't want to be fixed!!

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
Re: Electronic Control for Bob Cordell's THD Analyser?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2018, 05:11:37 pm »
Please excuse my asking, but why would you not use a good sound card and an FFT?  You should be able to measure to 0.0001% or better with a modest amount of  software using Octave or MATLAB.

Offline Chris56000Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2018, 06:27:58 pm »
Hi!