Author Topic: STM32F103 Custom PCB - Weird Startup Issues  (Read 3637 times)

Offline Saboteur94Topic starter

• Contributor
STM32F103 Custom PCB - Weird Startup Issues
« on: August 01, 2018, 09:11:02 am »
Greetings EEVBlog members!

I have just made a small homemade PCB for the STM32F103.I have managed to program it via UART using STM32 Flash Loader (Simple LED blink on PB5).I used a USB-to-Serial converter to program with BOOT0=1 and BOOT1=0.However,when I reset the STM32 (With BOOT0=0 and BOOT1=0) the blink program doesnt start unless I touch the chip with my index finger at the corner where PINS 1-5 are located (VBAT,PC13,PC14,PC15).This is a rather weird Issue.My schematic and PCB layout is attached.Whats more weird is that when I try to power the device from a battery or lab PSU it doesnt blink the LED at all even after I do the touch with my index finger.The reference for my design was the "Blue Pill" board.

I'm new to the blog.Please tell me if I have provided insufficient info.

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
Re: STM32F103 Custom PCB - Weird Startup Issues
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2018, 10:32:12 am »
The layout is horrible enough that it's the probable cause.

Use a ground plane and direct vias to it. This means every CPU GND pin has a via to the GND plane right next to it, and the 100n caps will have those vias as well.

Offline oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2018, 01:13:37 pm »
Check the oscillator configuration.

Offline hans

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2018, 01:20:35 pm »
In schematic, you've drawn OSC_IN and OSC_OUT, but there is no actual crystal.

The STM32 boots with internal oscillator. Your firmware may start to then switch over to an external oscillator and seemingly hang.