Author Topic: STM32F4 Minimal circuit  (Read 46510 times)

Offline roliTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
STM32F4 Minimal circuit
« on: July 05, 2014, 06:12:22 pm »
Hi there!
The project that I am working on is now finally coming to an end. Well at least the hardware parts are set and ready to go. And now I need to build a PCB to support everything. And of course one of the main things on there is the micro. I am currently using the STM32F4 discovery board that has the 100 pin STM32F407VGT on board. Since this basically has everything that I need I decided to simply use that to keep it simple.

Problem is that I have never built a PCB for ARM MCU before. All my previous projects used (arduino compatible) ATMega MCUs which are really simple to use since you practically don't need anything. I know that ARMs are a bit more complex so that's why I am asking for help.

For now I need a basic circuit that uses internal oscillators and needs as little hardware as possible (but will still work reliably). And I want it to be programmable using the SWD connector. Using different forums and the original datasheet I've come up with the circuit in the attachment.

Is this OK or do I need anything else? The dataheet mentions a 4.7uF capacitor on one of the power lines but I am not sure if this means that I need a 100nF capacitor and a 4.7uF one or just the 4.7uF. I am also not entirely sure about the VREF+ capacitor either.

What else do I need if I want to use the internal RTC? Probably something connected to the VBAT pin? The datasheet mentions a power switch but I don't get how that's supposed to work.

The following users thanked this post: zzattack, ZeroResistance

Offline andyturk

• Frequent Contributor
Re: STM32F4 Minimal circuit
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2014, 07:03:29 pm »