Author Topic: TI - MSP430F2012: Findings to share  (Read 2066 times)

Offline tolsen5468Topic starter

TI - MSP430F2012: Findings to share
« on: March 16, 2015, 07:26:04 pm »
Im sure there's someone out there that can explain everything I'm about to say, but I'm just a beginner reaching out to other beginners. Also looking for maybe some help from the community as well.

To start off I'm using a TI MSP430F2012 which is a 14 pin PDIP Micro on a TI launchpad (MSP-EXP430G2) using energia (because I'm using a Mac and I'm deep into the arduino world).

So here's what I've found: Besides downloading the actual energia software you must also install the supporting drivers to run the serial communications (a moment of stupidity on my part).
Next: In order to program that chip, you must select the msp430g2231(1MHz)  board selected, which under the specs of the chip it's claimed to have a max internal clock of 16MHz at the voltage being supplied by the board so I thought that you would use one of the other 16MHz boards in the settings to program, wrong again, I then looked at the data sheet and saw "Active Mode: 220 µA at 1 MHz, 2.2 V" so it would make sense that it would be programmed with the 1MHz chip selected, among other reasons as well.
Lastly: I was trying to get my bearings on how the serial communications worked in energia compared to arduino and I found that although in the setup you can call "Serial.begin(9600);" which would indicate a 9600 baud communications, right? I guess not because when I have it loop a simple serial.print and a delay it came up with a bunch of symbols which would be common with selecting the wrong baud in the serial monitor, so after selecting a few, 4800 baud worked perfectly, I'm sure there's some explanation for why you can declare a 9600 rate on the micro but then have to read it at a 4800 rate, just an interesting observation.