Author Topic: Tips on implementing an I2C Software stack that doesn't waste time? (dspic)  (Read 1288 times)

Online JPorticiTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hi there.
I have a confession: until last couple of days i've basically never used I2C.. mainly because it seemed often buggy (why is it so had to implement an I2C peripheral? i remember reading that older STM32Fx parts actually needed a software implementation!)
and not so much automation seems to be possible.

Infact, in dspics at least, there is no operation queue so the user has to rely on individual actions and interrupts.

So, in next projects i have used up most resources and pins... I2C for memories and others has suddently become very attractive and i started coding.
Now i've implemented a solution i'm liking.. relies on interrupts and uses very little processing time, even with interrupt latency. Compiled with XC16, -O1 (still in free mode) the solution is reasonably tidy and neat.
The only peripheral i've handled for now is a 24xxyyyy I2C eeprom type (e.g. : 24LC512)
My approach was the following:
- there is an event queue
- last event of queue is _I2C_IDLE (actually first, it's a LIFO buffer)
- every interrupt corresponds to the end of a previous event so new event must be handled (check ACK/NACK, move data, ..) and event position counter is updated (e.g.: i still have locations to read: decrement counter and go back to "READ" instead of going forward)
- a new i2c operation can be initiated only with the peripheral free (interrupt at event "_I2C_IDLE")

*** The code IS working as expected. Not claiming this is perfect, infact i'm missing collision handling (don't know what to do in that case)

What i'm asking is, how do you proceed in such cases?

Offline Howardlong

• Super Contributor
I'm assuming it's a master rather than a slave. There are three stacks I use:

1) Simple blocking API, no error or time out handling
2) Event driven FSM, no error or time out handling