Author Topic: Trying to load Arduino boot loader using AVR Studio 7 - ChinA OpenLog no softwar  (Read 1548 times)

Offline AllTheGearNoIdeaTopic starter

• Supporter
    • AllTheGearNoIdea
Hello I need some general help with using the AVR Studio 7 and Arduino. So the story is that I need some RS232 to SD card data loggers.  I bought a few of these from sparkfun and very good they are. But they are expensive and I’m a cheap skate and I need 20 of them and cost stacks up.

So I bought some openlogs from China as £2 is better than £15. Anyway they didn’t work and I figured out they have no software installed. I have never used Arduino before downloaded Arduino software and followed online advice to install the OpenLog sketch. Well that didn’t work either as the Arduino IDE wouldn’t talk to the AVR microcontroller. So after more reading I figured out I need a boot loader.

First thing I found is the SPI programming header is covered in solder mask and the pads are bloody tiny. Scraped off the solder mask and soldered in some jumper cables.

Next problem is I didn’t have a programmer so I bought the shareware avrIsp II.  Following an online tutorial I installed AVR studio 7  and got the OPtiboot HEX file from the Arduino director on my computer. I found I could read and write to the Arduino and download load optiboot hex but still could not get it to talk to the Arduino IDE

I then found out that the boot loader could be down loaded from the Arduino IDE. Unfortunately this didn’t work because there’s a conflict between the AVRIsp driver installed with AVR Studio and the Arduino IDE. Apparently a known problem- well it wasn’t known by me LOL.

I found I could down load the boot loader using my bus pirate via the Arduino IDE. I get a little blue light flashing on my open log about every half second, I assume that’s a good sign. I can now connect using the Arduino serial cable and download sketches. So I must be on the home run.

So here my questions