Author Topic: Understanding a DC motor with an Onboard PCB with PIC16F616  (Read 5245 times)

Offline TonyBarrTopic starter

• Contributor
Understanding a DC motor with an Onboard PCB with PIC16F616
« on: January 18, 2017, 03:45:09 am »
Hello,  I am an engineer working in the advanced engineering department of a U.S.A. based automotive supplier. We are benchmarking electromechanical valves and pumps used in engine cooling systems in an effort to expand our product offerings.  We just recently purchased a small "auxiliary water pump" used in Audi vehicles to provide coolant flow to the turbocharger after the engine is shut-down (a so-called "after-run" pump used to protect the turbo bearings from burning up on shut-down).  I attempted to apply 9VDC to all combinations of the three terminals, but could not get the pump to spin.  Later I measured the resistance across each pair combination of the terminals and found each to be in the kOhms.  Following this, I cut the back cover off of the plastic motor housing and found a PCB with many surface mount components including a PIC16F616 microcontroller. 

I am a mechanical engineer with no DC motor controller experience.  Could somebody help me and provide some explanation of why such a PCB would be needed for a simple pump? It is possible that the motor is intended to be reversed or stopped to control or reverse the pump flow in this application.  Also, how could I actually power this motor on the bench?

Thanks!

Tony
« Last Edit: January 18, 2017, 03:47:32 am by TonyBarr »

Offline batteksystem

• Regular Contributor
    • My ebay store
Re: Understanding a DC motor with an Onboard PCB with PIC16F616
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 03:53:05 am »
Most likely the device will be listening for command from ECU to activate / de-activate the pump. I don't think this PIC has built in CAN. Do you see any CAN chip in addition to the MCU?

The following users thanked this post: TonyBarr

Offline noidea

• Supporter