Author Topic: Up to date and not ancient VHDL tutorial!  (Read 7917 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Up to date and not ancient VHDL tutorial!
« on: August 12, 2018, 12:39:04 pm »
Hi,
I was searching the web for a decent and cool and new way of interactively learning VHDL or verilog, but I do not know why what ever I have found was old, like 2000 or before and it was actually boring! |O |O |O

So what am I missing? do we live in a brand new world for VHDL or verilog with a decent colorful and new and fun tutorial?

Any Ideas would highly appriciated! currently I'm interested in VHDL but I might consider Verilog after I have done some projects with VHDL.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2018, 12:44:37 pm by ali_asadzadeh »
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online coppice

• Super Contributor
Re: Up to date and not ancient VHDL tutorial!
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 01:24:48 pm »
Verilog and VHDL haven't really changed much since 2000. Why would you expect newer tutorials?

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 01:27:02 pm »
You might Google for 'xilinx vhdl tutorial'

I haven't seen a comprehensive multi-part video tutorial but Xilinx publishes a lot of documentation for their devices and tools.

Offline RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2018, 02:54:03 pm »
So what am I missing?

You have wrong expectation. An HDL (Hardware Description Language) is not about cool and fun, it's about hard and tedious.

For example, VHDL is a strongly-typed language, which can make it very frustrating, especially at the beginning.
https://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/strongly-typed

You may want to try Verilog, which is considered to be a little "friendlier" than VHDL, but don't expect any "Python friendliness".

Not recent, but a good starting point: https://www.fpga4fun.com/HDLtutorials.html