Author Topic: using 24 bit ADC IC MAX11201A with stm32  (Read 2814 times)

Offline basantabTopic starter

• Contributor
using 24 bit ADC IC MAX11201A with stm32
« on: November 29, 2018, 02:35:11 pm »
Hello
I am using Max11201A with stm32L100 discovery board. The problem is in datasheet it says 2 wire serial and just high on sclk gives 24 bit numbers.

Now in the datasheet the timings or schlk requirement is 5 MHZ which is a bit confusing to produce to me. When i toggle the pin high and low in without delay the duty cycle period is in microsecond . and with every 80 nanosecond pulse its going to shift out bits so to get 24 bit out i push 80 ns clk 24 times (rise and fall).

(i am relatively new to this stm32) :-)
Question
the question is how should i produce 80 ns spaced pulse(24 pulse) ?

(is it timer option i need to play with ?)

and also how to read those bits fast and knowing i read those bits in exact timing ?

thankyou for any inputs

Offline iMo

• Super Contributor
  • It's important to try new things..
Re: using 24 bit ADC IC MAX11201A with stm32
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2018, 02:56:26 pm »
The datasheet does not say the SCLK period is 80ns. It does say the MIN pulse width low and high is 80ns.
Simply set SCLK clock to something less than 5MHz and you will be fine.

and also how to read those bits fast and knowing i read those bits in exact timing ?

You do not need exact timing when below 5MHz clock. You may start with bitbanging the L100's SCLK output while reading DOUT. Add a small delay (ie 1us) when toggling the SCLK and when you learn how to read the 24bit of data you may optimize the reading to be faster speed.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2018, 03:14:49 pm by imo »

The following users thanked this post: basantab

Offline newbrain

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2018, 03:09:08 pm »
A (extended) couple of hints, the first ones that come to mind: