Poll

Do you use Verilog or VHDL?

I'm a pro and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
13 (15.7%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
22 (26.5%)
I'm a pro and I use VHDL
17 (20.5%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use VHDL
20 (24.1%)
I use both
3 (3.6%)
What's all this Verilog/VHDL nonsense anyway?
8 (9.6%)

Total Members Voted: 82

Author Topic: Verilog or VHDL?  (Read 29032 times)

Offline ehughes

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Verilog or VHDL?
« Reply #50 on: August 14, 2016, 04:04:06 am »
http://www.bawankule.com/verilogcenter/contest.html

In most real world scenarios, Verilog wins.

Verilog was created by 2 guys working in the industry to solve a real world problem.

VHDL was the result of government and academia trying to come up  with the end all modeling language.

Design by committee languages often end up ridiculously fluffed.

When it takes 3x the code to get the same functionality, VHDL ends up as an unreadable mess for large designs.

Once you get past FPGAs and move to ASICs, it is overwhelmingly Verilog (Cadence owns Verilog and is a huge player in the ASIC world)

Offline scatha

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #51 on: August 14, 2016, 05:29:39 am »

Verilog was created by 2 guys working in the industry to solve a real world problem.

VHDL was the result of government and academia trying to come up  with the end all modeling language.

Design by committee languages often end up ridiculously fluffed.

When it takes 3x the code to get the same functionality, VHDL ends up as an unreadable mess for large designs.

Once you get past FPGAs and move to ASICs, it is overwhelmingly Verilog (Cadence owns Verilog and is a huge player in the ASIC world)

I don't see how that link constitutes a 'real world scenario' - it's from 1997 and based on a toy problem.