Poll

Do you use Verilog or VHDL?

I'm a pro and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
13 (15.7%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
22 (26.5%)
I'm a pro and I use VHDL
17 (20.5%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use VHDL
20 (24.1%)
I use both
3 (3.6%)
What's all this Verilog/VHDL nonsense anyway?
8 (9.6%)

Total Members Voted: 82

Author Topic: Verilog or VHDL?  (Read 29152 times)

Offline legacy

• Super Contributor
  • !
Re: Verilog or VHDL?
« Reply #75 on: August 16, 2016, 10:15:54 am »
I use the Eclipse

at the beginning I was interested because enthusiast of such of tools and IDE, after a very bad job experience with Windriver and their Workbench (which is based on Eclipse) my feelings changed and now I hate those hyper complex tools, and this is the main reason why I wrote my own tool: with Eclipse I have always been doomed with metafiles and other stuff, not mentioning that those tools (Eclipse and something that is based on its source) are also too slow on my laptop(1)

with "too slow" I means that it makes me annoyed, delays are in order of seconds  :palm: :palm: :palm:
and, in my experiences, when it failed with metadata ... I lost the whole project, wasting a lot of time to figure out what was wrong without finding an answer, therefore the only solution I found was a brutal "erase and rewind"

• delete  the whole project (except source files)
  • click on "new project", attach source files, and start to describe it from the scratch

veditor plugin to write VHDL because it is 1000 times better than the crummy editor in ISE

ISE looks very comfortable once integrated with Scriptum by HDL Works (there is a freeware edition)
it's a pure HDL editor with syntax highlighting, no other special features (unless you buy the full version)
anyway it's very comfortable, and it's able to track the line error if used with ISE