Poll

Do you use Verilog or VHDL?

I'm a pro and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
13 (15.7%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use Verilog (or SystemVerilog)
22 (26.5%)
I'm a pro and I use VHDL
17 (20.5%)
I'm a hobbyist and I use VHDL
20 (24.1%)
I use both
3 (3.6%)
What's all this Verilog/VHDL nonsense anyway?
8 (9.6%)

Total Members Voted: 82

Author Topic: Verilog or VHDL?  (Read 29143 times)

Offline Sal AmmoniacTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Verilog or VHDL?
« on: August 12, 2016, 02:15:17 am »
I'm curious how many people on this forum use Verilog and/or VHDL...
Complexity is the number-one enemy of high-quality code.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Verilog or VHDL?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2016, 02:56:50 am »
Verilog, and even that is too verbose for my taste. I can't deal with the amount of typing required for VHDL.
Alex

The following users thanked this post: gauravmp

Offline exmadscientist

• Frequent Contributor
  • Technically A Professional
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 05:06:04 am »
There are entire classes of stupid Verilog mistakes that are simply not possible in VHDL. Given that hardware design is challenging enough, I'm happy to trade a bit of verbosity for a lot of type-safety.

(And it's not like VHDL is that verbose, anyway, given its domain. It's certainly a lot more pleasant to write than yet another AbstractFactoryConstructorDelegationVisitorSingletonFactory!)

Offline scatha

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2016, 06:02:27 am »
It depends on the existing project codebase - if it's Verilog I use Verilog, VHDL then I use VHDL. Mixed-source projects can be a pain because invariably someone's chosen port names which are reserved keywords in the alternate language.

I've been too mentally scarred by other people's horrible, horrible Verilog to use it in my personal projects - I tend to use VHDL for synthesis and SystemVerilog for verification which gives me the best of both worlds.

Offline obiwanjacobi