Author Topic: What do I need to get started?  (Read 6552 times)

Offline Peter1964Topic starter

• Contributor
What do I need to get started?
« on: January 11, 2015, 02:28:08 pm »
Hi EEV's
I want to do a timer-project and was at first looking at old-school timer IC's and so on.
We are in the modern computer-age now - so I decided on a micro controller like PIC16F628A and a 2 by 16 lcd display to show what is going on.

Now the problems starts.
What hardware (beside the PIC) should I buy?
What software to do C or Pascal programming?

It only for hobby so I do need something that works but not cost a fortune.
I did take a look at a lot of videos and articles on the net - but it seems kind of confusing and some very expensive.

I am a programmer (that is what I do for a living).

Regards Peter

Offline mc

• Regular Contributor
Re: What do I need to get started?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2015, 03:36:00 pm »
Hardware - whatever you need to program your chosen chip, and whatever else it needs to run.
Software - C, or some variety of C.

Personally, for somebody new to this, I'd be more inclined to recommend something Arduino.
You can pick up cheap Arduino clones for not much money, they have everything onboard to program them, and the Arduino IDE is free. The Arduino IDE is a bit simplistic and uses C++, however there are lots of examples to get you going, and if you then want to use C, you can.
I know lots of people criticise those that use Arduino, but I think it's a very good complete solution for anybody looking to use micros for the first time.

Another option would be some of the ARM development boards that work with the mbed system.

As a beginner, I'd avoid jumping straight into any of the more commercial orientated systems, as they can prove to be very overwhelming if you've never programmed a chip before.

Offline dannyf

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2015, 03:50:37 pm »
What hardware (beside the PIC) should I buy?