Author Topic: where to start? AVR/ARM/PIC .....  (Read 10356 times)

Offline NEoXTopic starter

• Contributor
where to start? AVR/ARM/PIC .....
« on: August 30, 2018, 11:04:28 pm »
Hi!
I'm interested in programming microcontrollers. I used Arduino UNO for a lot of projects, but it is that time to step it up and start programming in C or something else. I have some basic knowledge in C/C++/C#.. but when it comes to microcontrollers I don't know to set pins as output or input      :scared:

I want to enter in the real stuff of programming (run away from Arduino IDE).

Where to start?

I know there are lots of controllers that do tasks for a specific project and it depend for what I need it, but at this moment it doesn't matter because I want to learn general programming..

Witch controller to use for learning and what is best to learn for today uses?

I have a bunch of atmel (microchip) atmega lying around and also got EFM8 busy bee starter kit (but there is a small amount of examples and it is hard to get started with it for me)..

I have some knowledge of electrical circuits and I'm a student of electrical engineering so all this stuff is MUST KNOW for me and I want to "master it".

Any books/pdf/forum posts to start with all this stuff?

I think that AVR atmega is good option but maybe I'm wrong (for example ARM is maybe betrer way to start learning..idk.)

Thanks!

Offline luiHS

• Frequent Contributor
Re: where to start? AVR/ARM/PIC .....
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2018, 12:24:07 am »

ARM, ARM and ARM, it's the best thing to start and follow. ST STM32, LPC/Kinetis NXP, Atmel SAM S70 or the best currently for me, the RT1020/1050 NXP.

Working with ARM, means mainly, environment of development and C/C ++ compiler totally free, high portability between manufacturers, very cheap evaluation boards, a lot of technical documentation, even some interesting books (although not many).