Author Topic: XC8 understanding __delay_ms()  (Read 27527 times)

Offline DTJTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
XC8 understanding __delay_ms()
« on: November 27, 2014, 09:00:53 am »
Dummy question time!

Using MPLABX, XC8 with an 18F25k22 uC.

The __delay_ms() functions seem way off and I'm not sure if my problem is the oscillator set up.

I think I have the oscillator set up for a direct HF internal 16MHz oscillator (see configs in code below).

Executing a "__delay_ms(20)" generates a delay of 320mS which is 16 times what I expected.
Executing a "__delay_us(20)" generates a delay of 320uS which is again 16 times what I expected.

If I just toggle the pin as shown immediately below I measure an "on" time of 4uS

LATBbits.LATB0 = 1;   // RB-0 to High
      LATBbits.LATB0 = 0;    // RB-0 to LOW

If the clock time is 16MHz, that gives 4MHz instructing rate or 4 instructions / uS.
I'm new to programming in C, the old BSF in assembler took 1 cycle - does the same apply for  "LATBbits.LATB0 = 1"

Help - what am I doing wrong!
Thanks. 

#include<p18f25k22.h>                                //      [[[[Include the PIC18F550 Headers]]]]]]

/* COMPILER DIRECTIVES FOR CHIP CONFIGURATION BITS*/
#pragma config PLLCFG = OFF     //PLL is off
#pragma config PRICLKEN = ON   //Primary clock enabled
#pragma config FCMEN = ON   //Fail-Safe Clock Monitor enabled
#pragma config IESO = OFF   //Oscillator Switchover mode disabled
#pragma config FOSC = INTIO67   // osc config - enables RA6/7 with int osc.
//#pragma config FOSC = INTIO7   // osc config - Internal osc block, CLKOUT on OSC2

#pragma config BOREN = OFF   //Brown-out Reset disabled in h/w & s/w
#pragma config BORV = 220    //Brown Out Voltage: 2.2V
#pragma config PWRTEN = OFF //PWRT disabled

#pragma config WDTEN = OFF, WDTPS = 32768   // WDT off, post scaled 32768

#pragma config STVREN = ON  //Stack full/underflow will not cause Rst
#pragma config XINST = OFF  //Inst set & Index Add disab. Legacy mode