Author Topic: Zilog Z180 Single Board Computer project  (Read 33944 times)

Offline ron.owensTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Zilog Z180 Single Board Computer project
« on: February 23, 2016, 12:28:58 pm »
I have been working on a Zilog Z180 design for over a year now. I have a complete set of schematics and PCB layout completed in Eagle. I would be very interested in anyone that would like to look over the design and see if I got it right. An extra set of eyes would be very much appreciated.

I have been designing circuits for many years and it was a few decades ago when I built a Z80 board. I design electronics for a living, but mostly embedded stuff. I rarely get to work on the firmware anymore. This project was a chance to roll up my sleeves and take a trip in a Way-Back machine to the 80's and have some good old fashioned 8-bit fun.

I am planning to fab several PCBs once I'm certain the design is reliable enough to do that. I'm willing to give boards to collaborators in payment for their help.

I would also really appreciate help in writing an assembly level monitor to help with software development and debug. It's a bit overwhelming for me to do on my own, being a hardware guy. I'm sure I'll eventually get there, but help would be nice.

Offline obiwanjacobi

• Frequent Contributor
  • What's this yippee-yayoh pin you talk about!?
    • Marctronix Blog
Re: Zilog Z180 Single Board Computer project
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2016, 01:35:22 pm »
Why not simply attach the design to you form post and people will respond for free  ;D

There are a lot of Z80 monitors with source code out there. What type of functionality do you want?

BTW: I have written some blog posts on my Z80 project with some ideas that may be perhaps of interest to you.
Arduino Template Library | Zalt Z80 Computer
Wrong code should not compile!

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2016, 07:42:49 pm »