Author Topic: KiCAD: Replace a component with a compatible in library, schema, netlist, PCB  (Read 6513 times)

Offline jancumpsTopic starter

• Supporter
  • New Low
I created a schema using an IDT IDTQS3VH16245 ic.
In the final design, I want to use the pin-compatible TI SN74CBT16245DGGR, because the IDT chip doesn't work in my context.

What is the right way in KiCAD to replace the IDT chip with the TI one, so that schema, netlist and PCB are correct?
I created the IC and footprint in a KiCad custom library.

I tried to copy the library element and replace the ones in schema, netlist and PCB without loosing connections and traces, but seem to be taking the wrong approach.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
I created a schema using an IDT IDTQS3VH16245 ic.
In the final design, I want to use the pin-compatible TI SN74CBT16245DGGR, because the IDT chip doesn't work in my context.

What is the right way in KiCAD to replace the IDT chip with the TI one, so that schema, netlist and PCB are correct?
I created the IC and footprint in a KiCad custom library.

I tried to copy the library element and replace the ones in schema, netlist and PCB without loosing (sic) connections and traces, but seem to be taking the wrong approach.

What is it about the IDT part that "doesn't work in your context?" They seem to be the same device, in the same package.

So to that end, the simplest way to make things sync up is the change, in the schematic, the name of the part in the symbol's value field. There's no need to touch the PCB or regenerate a netlist. Then you can regenerate your BOM from the schematic and it will have the new part number for these parts.

Offline jancumpsTopic starter

• Supporter
  • New Low
I'll try your suggestion.

What is it about the IDT part that "doesn't work in your context?" They seem to be the same device, in the same package.