Author Topic: Presentation, yet another home automation project: Dromo  (Read 3231 times)

Offline mainakaeTopic starter

• Contributor
Presentation, yet another home automation project: Dromo
« on: May 29, 2013, 11:07:27 am »
Hello every body!

First things first: congratulations and many thanks for this excellent source of information that is EEVBlog. Thanks Dave, with your videos I've had the chance to recover this old passion of electronics, and take it further than I ever expected.

On my background I must say I'm a 31yr old Computer Scientist (spanish, hence my poor english, sorry for that) with little knowledge on general electronics, but eager to learn. During my university studies I worked for one year in the robotics department where I learned the basics on PCB design and manufacture. I had to manufacture several prototypes from the lab, mainly parts for robots: communications (i2c), sensors and such. I lacked the electronics knowledge identify anything but resistors and caps in an schematic, but started working with micro controllers (Microchip PIC mainly, but also java cards and other stuff), which proved to be as fun as it could get, and also learnt to chemically process PCBs (lytography included) and solder. After I finished my studies, I left back electronics for software, until I found Arduino two years ago. That made me recover my curiosity on electronics and after struggling with many sources of information, I found EEVBlog more than a year ago, which prooved to be the best source EVER. Over this time I've built myself a decent and affordable newbie lab (DS1052, fluke multimeter, hakko soldering iron... ¡thanks again dave!) and pursued some projects with different degrees of success and a hell of a good time.