Author Topic: Open Source Scope- A Case In Point  (Read 9851 times)

Offline Old PrinterTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Open Source Scope- A Case In Point
« on: May 23, 2018, 06:35:24 pm »
To put out an open source scope, a company with deep pockets will have to roll the dice. While thinking about this and wondering if it might ever happen, a somewhat similar situation struck me. I am a life-long model airplane hobbyist, mostly radio control, and that is how I became interested in electronics.  Microprocessors had a huge impact on radio control equipment, particularly transmitters. Complicated models with many parts to control, and craft like helicopters and multi-rotors (drones) saw a huge advancement. There were only a handful of manufactures sharing the market, Futaba, JR Propo, Multiplex and Horizon are a few. Six or seven years ago a small startup Chinese company,  FrSky Electronics, decided to market a transmitter with open source software called Taranis. Model builders are a perfect target, that as a group love to tinker. FrSky did it right and used excellent quality components and put out a well engineered product. It was a huge hit and word spread through the online model forum's. It was easily the biggest moddeling product rollout I have ever seen. There was already a group, kind of like a small Sigrok, of software type enthusiasts with an open source project underway. FrSky piggybacked on that and have stayed with the original plan. I don't know their bottom line, but they continue to innovate and offer new products, and there is always a waiting list for the first run.
So if any of the companies with the where-with-all to make a scope like this happen, take a good long look at the FrSky Electronics company, and how they have done since their Taranis transmitter was introduced (2013 I think). Like Yogi says, you could look it up :)

Offline mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Open Source Scope- A Case In Point