Author Topic: How to make better repair videos  (Read 3029 times)

Offline PA4TIMTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • instruments are like rabbits, they multiply fast
    • PA4TIMs shelter for orphan measurement stuff
How to make better repair videos
« on: December 23, 2017, 01:55:51 pm »
I have no shortage in objects for repair videos because I do that for a living but how is an other thing. The repairs I do cost often a lot of time (the short ones already take 3 to 4 hours because most of the time there is no service doc and often also not even a user manual.  And that is without things like reverse engineering and looking for datasheets and parts.

I made a few that are almost an hour and I then already skipped the opening of the enclosure, first inspection  testing, setting up testgear, desoldering/soldering etc.

How do other youtubers do that ? First measuring and then do it over (so much faster) while filming . I do not think viewers like to see someone who is probing for more then an hour. (besides that internet is here still done by the ponyexpress and smoke-signals so long videos uploading and editing cost me 2 days without a usable computer. (Also because I fastest computer is an 8 years old core-2 laptop running Linux, I'm not so interested into computers other then some surfing, mail, datasheets and manuals )

And what about the thumbs up, comments, subscribe etc. I never ask about that because I think people should do that because they want to do that not because I ask.  But I begin to think that is the wrong idea if even Dave still asks that.

https://www.youtube.com/user/pa4tim  :my channel
www.pa4tim.nl
www.pa4tim.nl my collection measurement gear and experiments Also lots of info about network analyse
www.schneiderelectronicsrepair.nl  repair of test and calibration equipment
https://www.youtube.com/user/pa4tim my youtube channel

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
Re: How to make better repair videos