Author Topic: 20-500amp programmable, 12volt, dummy load?  (Read 12910 times)

Offline oldway

• Super Contributor
  • !
Re: 20-500amp programmable, 12volt, dummy load?
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2014, 08:53:12 am »
I started studying a project that would suit for this application .

It is an electronic load combining resistors with a MOSFET dynamic load, so that 2/3 or more of the power is dissipated in the resistors , and the load is adjustable in a continuous manner without variation of levels .

The resistors are very low cost and made of stainless steel wire (in my case , welding wire 0.8 mm in diameter - acceptable current : 5A)

For your project, load resistance should be chosen for 30A/resistor and switching would be done by automotive- relay of 30A.

The amount of relays and resistors depends on the total current value.

An Hall sensor is used for current measurement and regulation.

In parallel , there must be a MOSFET dynamic load 12V 50A 600W which will be used to fine tuning .

The assembly is cooled by forced ventilation with a fan recovered from an electric heater.

The stainless steel wire is very cheap compared to the Kanthal wire, but its resistance varies with temperature .

But that does not matter because it will be offset by fine tuning of the MOSFET dynamic load.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 08:58:47 am by oldway »

Offline TerraHertz

• Super Contributor
  • Why shouldn't we question everything?
    • It's not really a Blog
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2014, 09:45:00 am »
Basically! I'm looking for a way to easily load test batteries, or battery banks, with a settable 20-500amp load...
Is this a possibility?

... at 12volts ...

Wait, are you talking about battery banks? Isn't it rare (ie never) for many lead-acid batteries to be connected in parallel? I thought this isn't done because the batteries can't be balanced, and also what happens if one goes short circuit.