Author Topic: 3.3V to 24V 20MHz signal level shifting  (Read 7392 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
3.3V to 24V 20MHz signal level shifting
« on: February 24, 2018, 12:42:58 pm »
Hi,
I have designed this circuit, but It's not working as expected! Do you have a better Idea of how it could be done, for lower frequencies under 1MHz it seems it works somehow, although the duty cycle is changed!
The simulation results for 600KHz and 20MHz are attached!
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: 3.3V to 24V 20MHz signal level shifting
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2018, 01:57:45 pm »
You have heavy storage problems in the lower transistor, caused by saturation.
You can try to improve the switching performance, for example by using a Baker clamp. And you probably need much faster transistors that the ones you've chosen.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baker_clamp

« Last Edit: February 24, 2018, 02:00:54 pm by Benta »

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2018, 05:19:25 pm »
An AC bypass capacitor across R3 would also help.

And why the heck are you using a 50W zener diode for the current source?
http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheet/microsemi/SA5-15.pdf

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2018, 06:05:33 pm »
and why he even need T1 and R1? i guess the 1N2804 is used because thats the default zener given by the SW when we placed the component into the circuit.
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2018, 06:20:52 pm »