Author Topic: 3478A FRAM modification  (Read 10287 times)

Offline wolfalexTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My hobby electronics website
3478A FRAM modification
« on: August 16, 2016, 12:14:49 pm »
Hello,

Because I removed the battery inside my 3478A for internal shipping purposes I have already lost its calibration constants and this gave me the opportunity to implement an idea I had already
for a longer time. I really disliked the idea of buying a new lithium battery for my meter and to install it, especially because I know that there are much better options nowadays. This is when I decided to
modify my 3478A meter to use FRAM (ferreromagnetic RAM) instead of the original battery-backed up SRAM solution. I have never used FRAM before, and I thought this is the perfect occasion to learn and try out something new. I thought I add some information about this project here if somebody is interested :)

I do not know if somebody tried this before (or bothered to do so) or if my 3478A is now unique in this perspective :)

I added a page to my website showing more information about this modification. But I will also add some information here under this topic.

http://wolfalex.bplaced.net/te/hp3478a/fram/hp3478a_fram.htm

Please keep the following in mind: Removing the battery, shorting the RAM supply voltage only for a split second or doing anything else shown on this page will result in lost RAM calibration constants. This will turn a still valueable and useful meter into a less valueable and useful one! Also handle the lithium battery contained in the 3478A with care. Never short the battery and be aware of the fire hazard. For disposal of batteries always follow safety guidlines and the industry/government rules/guidlines in your state.

I would be very happy if some of this information is useful or interesting for somebody. Just let me know what you think.

• Regular Contributor
Re: 3478A FRAM modification
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2016, 12:19:00 pm »