Author Topic: Adding cell balancing to BQ25703A  (Read 1086 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Adding cell balancing to BQ25703A
« on: March 21, 2018, 02:59:01 pm »
Hi,
BQ25703A is a relatively new part from TI, it has almost everything I needed, but it lacks cell balancing capability, since I would have a Cortex M in my design, I tough maybe I could use spare ADC and IO for performing Cell balancing on the batteries too with the MCU, Do you suggest a better solution? or do you recommend any better Idea?

The system is 4S battery, measuring each cell voltage with a simple resistor divider and connecting it to an ADC channel of MCU and by that measuring each cell voltage and turning on/off each cell MOSFET along it's series resistor, the only problem remains is Driving MOSFET's cheaply!

ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

• Super Contributor
Re: Adding cell balancing to BQ25703A
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 12:58:46 pm »
Can we use DW01 for cell balancing? ;)

Offline Daixiwen

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2018, 01:20:07 pm »
The system is 4S battery, measuring each cell voltage with a simple resistor divider and connecting it to an ADC channel of MCU
Just be careful that you don't introduce unbalancing with that solution. If the "simple resistor divider" draws different currents from each mid point between the cells, it will discharge the cells at a slightly different rate. The current is usually negligible, but you can notice it if you keep the battery in storage for a long time.
It should work. Remember to turn the MOSFets off when you do the voltage measurement, and do preferably the balancing during the end of charge. This is where the voltage difference between the cells, if they are not balanced, will be the highest.

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page