Author Topic: Advice on multiple MC34063 circuits  (Read 10167 times)

Offline Electron_1Topic starter

• Contributor
Advice on multiple MC34063 circuits
« on: January 19, 2015, 04:51:53 pm »
Hi all,
This is my first time posting on EEVBlog so I hope I am posting in the right forum.
Just wondering if I could get advice on a circuit. I am planning on building a Dc-Dc convertor  for my CNC machine control box using the MC34063 (based on Dave's video blog #110)
I have 48v running to my motor controllers. My plan is to take that 48v and bring it to about 39v (maximum 40v input for the MC34063). I then hope to build three independent circuits on one pcb board, giving me three outputs: 24v, 12v and 9v
Basically my question is, are there any pitfalls I should look out for when placing the 3 circuits on the one board eg. Having the inductors too close to each other etc. or perhaps there is a reason why I shouldn't place them on one board at all ?
Any and all advice is appreciated.
Many Thanks

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: Advice on multiple MC34063 circuits
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 05:44:29 pm »
How much current do you need to have on 24, 12 and 9v ?

DC-DC converters based on MC34063 will only be able to give you about 0.75A.

In addition, the chip is inefficient at about 60-75%, so if you only need.. let's say 50-100 mA on 9v and you won't need the maximum current on 12v, it would be cheaper and about the same to just use a linear regulator to get 9v from 12v.

There are other chips that can handle up to 60-75v and will also be more efficient. Lots of them are available in surface mount and fewer in through-hole packages but just on a quick search here's some suggestions :

http://uk.farnell.com/texas-instruments/lm2591hvt-adj/switching-reg-1a-adj-2591-to2205/dp/9489541
http://uk.farnell.com/texas-instruments/tl2575hv-adjikv/ic-step-dn-sw-reg-adj-1a-to220/dp/1755275