Author Topic: Arduino strange problem (variable assignment not working in case statement):  (Read 5748 times)

Offline PowermaxTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I have been recently working on developing a lab bench power supply unit (thread found here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/anything-wrong-with-this-linear-psu-design/) and plan to use a small arduino (ATmega328p based clone board) but have ran into a very strange problem while using the switch case statement.

Below is my code. Sorry if it's poorly written and sloppy, I am no expert coder (and typically rely on hardware solutions before turning over to software solutions :P one example is my use of a capacitor RC network to act as a digital buffer on an input pin. You'll see what I mean if you read the code.

Code: [Select]
const byte VoltageSetPin = 10;
const byte CurrentSetPim = 9;

// mode 0 = voltage set
// mode 1 = current set
// mode 2 =
byte mode = 0;

const int pinA = 2;  // One of the pins from the encoder
const int pinB = 3;  // The other pin from the encoder
const int pinC = 4; // The encoder is pushable, this pin is used to switch between modes 0 and 1

const int button1 = A1; // not yet implemented
const int button2 = A2; // not yet implemented
const int button3 = A3; // not yet implemented
const int button4 = A4; // not yet implemented

bool PastValueA = LOW;
bool PastValueB = LOW;
bool ValueA = LOW;
bool ValueB = LOW;

bool ValueC = LOW;

int vel = 0;
float VoltageSet = 0;
float CurrentSet = 0;

// this code waits for the specified pin to charge back up, the time it takes will depend on the RC time constant.
void WaitForHigh(bool pin){
  while(!digitalRead(pin)){
      pinMode(pin, INPUT_PULLUP);
    }
    pinMode(pin, INPUT);
}
/*
 * Events 1 through 4 are interupt handlers for the the rotary encoder. They trigger on transisions and measure the state of the other pin to determine rotation direction.