Author Topic: DIY Scalable Bench Power Supply Design  (Read 115676 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Re: 0-20V 0-3A Bench Power Supply Design
« Reply #150 on: November 20, 2014, 09:33:08 am »
If I'm going to use high side current sensing I might as well use a 'regular' 5V rail-to-rail opamp with low offset and a P-channel MOSFET like in one of the application notes on high side current sensing. I'll probably replace the resistor with a curent sink and the zener with a TL431. It'll still be simpler than auto-ranging and won't require any 'special' components which was the initial goal of this design.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #151 on: November 20, 2014, 04:56:29 pm »
I'm agree. More parts make frequency compensation difficult. Do you have any reference to discrete solution when we comes to current monitoring?

Besides using the methods that the mentioned Tektronix and HP power supplies use for their current limiting, this application note from Analog Devices pretty much covers it:

http://www.analog.com/library/analogdialogue/archives/44-12/high_side.html

I favor the first circuit shown above but the problem with it is that at low output voltages, the current monitoring circuit runs out of compliance if the output is referenced to ground.  I would reference the output to a point below ground to avoid this and level shift the control signal if necessary.

Yes, separate floating bias supply add some parts but I'm still fine with it if overall result is good.