Author Topic: Bench PSU : output switch and protection  (Read 1051 times)

Offline AtomTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Bench PSU : output switch and protection
« on: May 24, 2018, 05:22:52 am »
So first of all, hi to everyone.

I started to build my diy power supply a long time ago and I've been going through a lot of designs ,  finally I settled on the HP 3620, I discarded all the things that weren't needed (prereg) for a basic test, now it's on the breadboard and it's working really well. Now I have a few questions since I'm a newbie.

1. How should I be switching the output on and off ? P channel ? N channel mos (I have a 12 rail on top of the 0-30vdc main rail).. I would prefer to not use relays (because they can weld?)

2. There are others countermeasures that I can take to not damage the PSU and the circuit attached to it?

Offline Paul Price

• Super Contributor
Re: Bench PSU : output switch and protection
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 03:53:45 pm »
This power supply design has a 470uF cap directly across the output terminals. If the output voltage is set to some value, then this capacitor will try to discharge itself directly to the circuit it is suddenly connected to(if you turn on power to the circuit you are powring by using an output switch), even though this supply has constant current modes of operation. You don't need an output switch, you need to ramp up the output slowly and watch current draw as you bring the supply up to the desired output voltage level you want. This will best protect the P/S and the circuit it is connected to.

The following users thanked this post: Atom

Offline AtomTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 07:03:54 pm »
thanks a lot so your suggestion would be to not use an output switch and ramp up the voltage by watching the current increase ?

by the way can someone help me to understand the current feedback loop? i understand the basics but that seems out of my league